Great Digs in DC Apartment Reviews and Ratings

WOW! Love love love! Great spot
(October 4, 2014)
5
Parking
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Noise
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Grounds
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Safety
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Laundry
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Manager
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Renter
Monthly Rent:
$650
Apartment Type:
1 Bedroom

Excellent property, clean; well maintained, great landlords! Highly recommend! <3

Was this review:
Awesome Rental! Best Accommodations for the money in DC!
(July 31, 2014)
5
Parking
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Noise
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Grounds
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Safety
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Laundry
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Manager
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Monthly Rent:
$750

I rented a place short-term from this landlord and it was the best rental experience I've had to date. As an independent contractor, I travel quite a bit and have lived in major cities around the US. This place blew my socks off! The quality of the space, upscale furnishings, affordable price and very responsive and considerate landlords makes this my place of choice whenever I come to DC, if it's available. These people take customer service seriously -- setting the bar very high for landlords in DC. They return calls within 24 hours, maintain the property impeccably and are always available if I have a question or concern. If you're lucky enough to score a rental here, you will not be disappointed.

Was this review:
Member review
(February 24, 2012)
1
Parking
0
No votes yet
Noise
0
No votes yet
Grounds
0
No votes yet
Safety
0
No votes yet
Laundry
0
No votes yet
Manager
0
No votes yet

Absolute nightmare is exactly what I would call this property. Landlords DISCONNECTED THE STOVE and refused to reconnect it unless either myself or my roommate admitted to leaving an empty pot on the stove all night (for the record, it was NOT me). There was no damage from this incident.

When I asked for compensation for the 3 weeks that the stove wasn't on, to pay me back for the perishable groceries I had to throw out and for having to eat out every day, they refused. I explained that I had a reasonable expectation for the stove to be functional when I rented the property (I wouldn't rent a place without a stove!), they still refused. I wasn't asking for much: $10 for each day (which still would not even cover my damages).

Beyond this stressful and ridiculous experience, the apartment, while like in the pictures they will post in the Craigslist ad, is newly remodeled, the entire place has 3 tiny windows, none of which are in the bedrooms. I rented this room without visiting, as I moved across country. So I didn't realize that every day I would be suffocating in a dark room with no windows, feeling like I was in a jail cell. They have dogs that are super loud and my bedroom was under the staircase so anytime someone came pounding down the stairs, I heard it. Also, the male landlord keeps a room of tools in the basement next to the room I stayed in, so every day he would barge in the apartment (without informing us) to get his stuff. Not something I, as a tiny little female, was comfortable with, nor told would be happening before I signed the lease.

Furthermore, the basement has mice and a variety of insects: I saw tiny worm things, some grasshopper/roach mutant, and spiders.

STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOUSE!

PS: They have more properties you'll want to stay away from. One is at 5210 14th St NW and I believe they have another on Allison and New Hampshire St. in Petworth.

Was this review:

Colleges and Programs Near Great Digs in DC

College or Program Distance
Levine School of Music 1.38 mi
Walter Reed Army Medical Center 1.60 mi
University of DC 1.72 mi
University of DC School of Law 1.72 mi
Washington Theological Union 1.78 mi
Washington Hospital Center 1.95 mi
Veterans Affairs Medical Center 2.04 mi
Children's National Medical Center 2.13 mi
Pontifical John Paul II Institute 2.22 mi
Catholic University of America 2.35 mi

Washington Demographic Data

Relationship Status

SingleMarriedDivorcedWidowed
48%34%10%8%

Homes With Kids

Washington Homes With ChildrenWashington Homes Without Children
19%81

Age Distribution

<1010s20s30s40s50s60s>=70s
12%12%18%17%14%11%7%9%

Commute Time

<10min>=60min10-20min20-30min30-45min45-60min
6%9%23%23%24%15%

Washington People Data

WashingtonNational
Median Household Income$40,127$44,512
Single Males24%15%
Single Females25%12%
Median Age3636
Homes With Kids19%31%
Average Household Size23
Average Commute Time (Minutes)3126
The main types of people are:
  • Non-native Newbies - Foreign-born individuals who just moved to U.S.

    A significant proportion of people who have moved to the U.S. from Puerto Rico, the U.S. Island Areas, or a foreign country. Wide age range. Some have a high school or college education, and they work in a variety of occupations.

  • Power Singles - High-income urban singles.

    Highly educated professionals, many with advanced degrees. They draw a handsome salary and have reasonable living expenses while living a hip, upscale life in an urban center.

  • College Life - Students in higher education. These individuals are enrolled in college or graduate school.

    People in college or graduate school.

  • Makin' It Singles - Upper-scale urban singles.

    Pre-middle-age to middle-age singles with upper-scale incomes. May or may not own their own home. Most have college educations and are employed in mid-management professions.

  • Bright Lights, Big City - Very mobile singles living in the city.

    Singles ranging in age from early 20s to mid-40s who have moved to an urban setting. Most rent their apartment or condo. Some have a college education and work in services and the professional sector.

Schools in Washington Near Great Digs in DC

NameTypeGradesTest RatingDistance
Kingsbury Day SchoolPrivate, Special Education9-12-0.15mi
West Elementary SchoolPublicPK-80.2mi
Washington Latin High PcsMagnet9-11-0.38mi
Brightwood Elementary SchoolPublicPK-80.55mi
Sharpe Health SchoolSp-EdPK-100.71mi
Truesdell Elementary SchoolPublicPK-80.72mi
Jewish Primary Day School/nations CapitalPrivate, Special Program EmphasisPK,K-6-0.75mi
Center City - Brightwood Campus PcsCharterPK-80.78mi
Roosevelt Senior High SchoolPublic9-120.79mi
Roosevelt StayAlt.UG-0.79mi
Nativity Catholic AcademyPrivatePK, K-8-0.79mi
Macfarland Middle SchoolPublic5-80.8mi
Powell Elementary SchoolPublicPK-40.83mi
Paul Junior High School PcsCharter6-90.85mi
Cesar Chavez Pcs Bruce CampusCharter6-90.86mi
Bridges BabiesPrivatePK,K-8-0.9mi
E L Haynes Pcs Kansas Avenue CampusCharterPK-2-0.93mi
Tots Developmental SchoolPrivate, Early Childhood Program/Day Care CenterPK,K-0.95mi
High Road Primary School Of Washington DcPrivate, Special EducationUG-0.96mi
Barnard Elementary SchoolPublicPK-51.15mi
St Gabriel SchoolPrivatePK, K-8-1.18mi
Center City - Petworth Campus PcsCharterPK-81.21mi
Whittier Elementary SchoolPublicPK-81.28mi
Raymond Elementary SchoolPublicPK-81.33mi
Coolidge Senior High SchoolPublic9-121.34mi
Preparatory School Of DcPrivatePK,K-9-1.37mi
Bancroft Elementary SchoolPublicPK-51.38mi
Sacred Heart SchoolPrivatePK,K-8-1.48mi
What are TestRatings?

The TestRating is a percentile ranking of a school's test scores. 10 is the highest TestRating, and 1 is the lowest TestRating. A TestRating of 10 means that your school's test scores are higher than 90% of schools in your state, a score of 6 means that your school's test scores are higher than 50% of schools, a score of 4 means that your school's test scores are higher than 30% of schools.

Information and data provided by Education.com is for reference only. Please contact the institution directly to verify enrollment eligibility for an apartment listing.